There really isn’t anyone else quite like STEVEN BATTELLE. A man obsessed with music, in its creation, and its history, who has spent the last year travelling around the world writing, recording and being inspired by all that is around him. He is also a man who has taken his time to make sure his debut solo album was just perfect.
Well over a year in the making, ‘Exit Brain Left’ is the debut solo album from the ex-LostAlone front man, and it is set for release on December 2nd through his own label, Suffer For My Art. Produced by Dan Weller (Young Guns, Enter Shikari, Sikth), the album is self funded, self created and absolutely and totally independent. The record fuses together grand, ambitious song writing and production with a beautiful, direct and heart-felt approach to story telling. Inspired by the likes of Nile Rogers, Queen, Mew, Prince, Bowie, Abba, Christmas, 80’s high end pop like Toto, Bruce Hornby and Quincy Jones, ‘Exit Brain Left’ is less a homage to a certain time or sound, but a living, breathing extension of it, as seen (and thought up) by the eyes and ears of one man.
Songs like “Powers Of Denial’ (a mournful celebratory triumphant song of confusion and confidence in equal measure. I’m a time traveller visiting and picking up the best and worst in my previous self’s.”) and ‘The Jump’  (Featuring an orchestra inspired by The Snowman’s motorbike ride, a 48 strong school choir and a recording of a Catalan siesta this was the first song I wrote for the record and lyrically found myself making sense of my new aloneness while musically I was discovering new ways of interpreting the music in my head.”) are filled with more ideas and sonic architecture than some bands manage in a whole career.
Other songs draw inspiration from all manner of sources, like stories of US army World War 2 missions (‘Last Night On Earth’), the animated film ‘Song For The Sea’ (‘The Ocean Chorus’), an imaginary encounter with reindeers (‘A Christmas Cartel’), the passing of David Bowie (‘Absent Magic part II’), an 80’s dystopian future police force (‘Police And Thank You’) which also features a vocal appearance from Marv in the film Home Alone over the top of a guitar solo….i really could go on.
The album concludes with the huge song 
‘I’m Still Finding Out Who I’m Going To Be’, which is a reaction to everything on the album that comes before it, all the searching and contemplation, and also a jump off point for the next record. ‘Exit Brain Left’ is an album to dive into and lose yourself in its wonder and magic.
‘Exit Brain Left’ full track listings:
1. Powers Of Denial
2. The Jump
3. Steven Battelle
4. A Christmas Cartel
5. Last Night On Earth
6. The Ocean Chorus
7. Police And Thank You
8. Nine Miles Of Light
9. Silent Movie Scream
10. Absent Magic (Part ll)
11. Violent Voices
12. I’m Still Finding Out Who I’m Going To Be
 Written by Matt Hughes